Parenting Teens: Tip #16

To my 17 year-old-daughter, EVERYTHING qualifies as an emergency. I regularly get calls, sometimes even at work, with her on the other end in a complete panic…”Mom, I left my gym shorts at home and I have gym in 5 minutes, can you bring them now, please?!?” or “Mom, I forgot money for lunch, can you bring me something to eat right NOW, please…I’m starving!?!”

Clearly not every situation warrants a code blue, drop-everything-and-leave-right-now response, but I do want my children to know that they can count on me. Just like the notion of unconditional love where we show our children that we love them no matter what, teens need to know that they can count on their parents, even if it means running around all over town like a crazy person sometimes. It is not easy and can certainly be inconvenient and stressful for us parents, but the positive effects for our kids can be far-reaching and super beneficial!

Tip #16

Standard

Leave a Reply

